As Tasmanias most important historic town, Richmond is one of the states most popular destinations, the perfect base for exploring Tasmanias South East. Historic, romantic, family friendly, a hub for food and wine lovers with its fresh food and fine wines, grown in fertile soils under the world’s cleanest air.
Good examples of Tasmanias stark convict heritage and beautiful historic buildings.
The town is as elegant today as it was in the 1820’s, when it was an important military staging post and convict station linking Hobart with Port Arthur.
Nestled in the Coal River Valley, this classified historic town is famous for its Georgian architecture.
Considered as a “must see” when visiting Tasmania, the town of Richmond has a huge variety of things to see and places to visit. From the historic and famous Richmond Bridge to the Zoodoo Wildlife Park, there is something for everyone.
In 1803 the first settlers found the Coal River Valley area and led by Lieutenant John Bowen and his surveyor James Meehan, the Richmond area was first explored.
The river was named ‘Coal River’ after James found coal in the area, he also discovered fertile land suitable for growing crops such as wheat.
The Richmond Bridge was built to aid in crossing the river and with construction completed the bridge opened in 1825. The area was considered a suitable place for a town, due to the bridge and agricultural operations.
Governor Sorell named this area the town of Richmond in 1824. The name is thought to have come from the property Richmond Park which is nearby.
The stone buildings now house galleries, tea shops, craft boutiques and museums, offering every convenience and luxury to the modern visitor.